Area: Namibia covers 824,292 sq km (318,259 sq mi).
Location: Situated on the southwestern coast of Africa, Namibia borders Angola and Zambia in the north, South Africa in the south and Botswana in the east.
Population: Slightly more than 2.2 million.
Capital City: Windhoek


Official Name: Republic of Namibia
Date of Independence: 21 March 1990
System of Government: Multi-party Democracy
Head of State: President Hifikepunye Pohamba since 2005.
Prime Minister: Nahas Angula since 2005.

Good to Know


The Namibia Dollar (N$): The Namibian Dollar and South African Rand are the only legal tender in Namibia and can be used freely to purchase goods and services.

Time Zones:

Summer time: GMT + 2 hours from the 1st Sunday in September to the 1st Sunday in April.

Winter time: GMT + 1 hour from the 1st Sunday in April to the 1st Sunday in September.

At approximately 824,000 square kilometers, Namibia is immense even by African standards. But it’s what occupies this seemingly endless amount space that makes it special. Namibia is filled with rugged, beautiful landscapes of every kind creating an otherworldly environment from which an amazing wealth of wildlife has adapted and thrived. It’s perfect for nature lovers. For adventure or solace seekers. And for people looking to be inspired long after their departure. Part of the allure of Namibia is that it’s four countries in one. Four different landscapes, each with its own characteristics and attractions.

  • The most definitive is the Namib, a long coastal desert that runs the length of the country and is highlighted with migrating dune belts, dry riverbeds and canyons.
  • The central plateau is home the majority of Namibia towns and villages and is divided between rugged mountain ranges and sand-filled valleys.
  • Next is the vast Kalahari Desert with its ancient red sand and sparse vegetation.
  • Finally, Kavango and Caprivi, blessed with generous amounts of rain and typified by tropical forests, perennial rivers and woodland savannahs.